I Love Lighting for Less

I’ve gotta be honest. I haven’t been so great at scoring amazing deals on the lighting for the house. First off, many of the ceilings are open beam so high hats and ceiling fixtures are out. Most of the house will be lit by wall sconces and then supplemented by lamps where needed. I’ve already talked about a couple of them here which were not fabulous deals. So you can imagine my dilemma when I came across the perfect little sconce for the master bath that came with a $200 price tag. It’s the Cube Wall sconce by Tech Lighting.

Tech Lighting Cube Wall SconceThe project is 90% done and I should theoretically  have all the lighting when the electrician comes to trim everything. Also, I don’t think I’ve mentioned that I had to return the first sconces that I got for the master bath because they are totally misrepresented by their picture. FYI, the shade below is white, stark white and I thought all the solid lines were gray or chrome. I was not happy and had to talk hard and fast in order to return them without any restocking fees…in Boca Raton, FL. For those familiar with Boca you know this is not easy.

Misrepresented Forecast Lighting

Anyways, back to the Cube Wall Sconce. I was making my almost daily stroll through Home Depot when I came across a near twin to the Cube at a quarter of the price! But, it was chrome…my fixtures are satin nickel. I’m kind of a stickler when it comes to different metal finishes in a small space. Thanks to google I was able to find the lovely Tanga sconce by Eglo in satin nickel. Of course the satin nickel was a little more but what’s new. Anyways, it was still a score compared to the Tech Lighting fixture.

Tanga Wall Sconce

Lesson here, always search high and low for a knockoff; that is, if you can’t make it. 🙂

About designnsuch

I am a just turned thirty, diy maven in the midst of a major home renovation.
This entry was posted in Bathroom, Lighting, The Great Renovate and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Love Lighting for Less

  1. We bought our fixture from Restoration Hardware when they had their annual bath sale and even then they were over $200. For the satin that is why is satin always more expensive!!!!!!

    The knock off looks pretty damn good though.

  2. Miz D says:

    I’ve also seen some nice lighting at Overstock.com for a fairly reasonable price. I’ve ordered things from them before and, after always reading the comments I still don’t like it, they have a great return policy. I’ve already chosen a couple of fixtures from the site and start of construction is still months away, lol!

    • designnsuch says:

      You are good Miz D! It’s great that you already know what you want. I ordered the pendant with the three lucite balls from Overstock but unfortunately it hung too low in the bathroom so I had to return it. But as you said, Overstock’s return policy is great. They took it back no problem.

Leave a Reply

