Contemplating Paint Colors

Part of today was spent contemplating the wall color in the master bath. Again. I thought I had made the final decision months ago. I had wanted to use Sherwin Williams Pool Blue and use kind of a faux technique.

Sherwin Williams Pool Blue

However, after seeing the sink installed with the marble backsplash the pool blue just didn’t seem to work. The sink and backsplash have such a sleek look and to combine it with the pool blue just seems wrong. Luckily, I had my Lutron color chips so I could use the light switch/plate color chip to help me select a color. I know, seems kind of weird to pick a paint color based on the light switch but I really like the color. Yes, it’s called Taupe but it’s the perfect combination of grey and beige with just a hint of lavender.

So, off to Sherwin Williams again. The salesman knows my dog’s name. Anyways, I got samples of Palisades, Popular Gray and Angora (left to right below) and painted small samples on the wall. I’ve found that even if you paint a sample on a scrap of drywall and hold it in place you must put sample colors on the wall where they’re going to live. Light is everything.

Paint Choices

You can’t see the detail in the floor color from this picture so it’s hard to make a truly informed decision from this image. Palisades is a definite no and even though I think Popular Gray is a better match for the backsplash I really like Angora. I’m not a 100% though. It’s so hard because most of the floor is covered with plastic. The more I look at the picture the more I’m thinking it’s going to be Angora. What do you think?

About designnsuch

I am a just turned thirty, diy maven in the midst of a major home renovation.
This entry was posted in Bathroom, The Great Renovate and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Contemplating Paint Colors

  1. katy says:

    palisades!
    but since it’s a “definite no” my second choice is angora.

  2. courtney says:

    poplar. ask elena. she’ll nail it down in an instant.

  3. elena says:

    hola, so i like popular grey b/c then the focus will be on the gorgeous marble, the modern sink and the custom floors. wall color will be in the background. if it’s too dark the room will look all dark and small. your bathroom is pretty modern so i would go with the popular grey….btw, i looked at that color myself =)

    • designnsuch says:

      Makes sense Elena. Thanks for your input. 🙂 I was torn because I like the Angora as a color but I figured the Popular Gray was the right color for the space. The blue is totally wrong. It’s so hard for me to decide until I see how things are in real life.
      Sure you didn’t see Courtney’s comment…jk 😉

  4. elena says:

    fyi… i did not see courtney’s comment until after i posted… just sayin’

  5. elena says:

    oh… and totally not feeling the blue anymore either… bathroom is too modern! shhh….. don’t Fabio! lol

  6. Brandi says:

    I think the angora is the best too. I’m looking for a gray with a purple undertone. I will have to check these out!

    • designnsuch says:

      Hey Brandi, I ended up going with Popular Gray even though I loved Angora. I’m happy I did because my bathroom doesn’t get a lot of natural light and I couldn’t believe how much darker the Popular Gray made the room. The Angora would’ve made it even darker. However, if your bathroom is decently lit and you’re looking for gray with a hint of purple, Angora is your color. 🙂

Leave a Reply

