Can we discuss…kitchen organization??

Today I started unpacking all of our kitchen stuff and realized I don’t know what half of the tools are. I know they have a purpose but how am I supposed to tame these things??
.

20110710-060939.jpg

Never mind the excess. I think we have five sets of tongs! I think that comes from living out of boxes so long.

I have to admit unpacking stuff I haven’t seen in 2 years and being able to properly display them for the first time in 7 years is pretty exciting.

20110710-061404.jpg

You can’t tell from the photo but it’s antique Alessio teakettle that could be in a museum. It’s finally breathing!!

Any advice on kitchen organization would be appreciated!

About designnsuch

I am a just turned thirty, diy maven in the midst of a major home renovation.
This entry was posted in Kitchen, The Great Renovate and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Can we discuss…kitchen organization??

  1. Holly says:

    John and I just got a simple fiestaware utensil crock. After the two of us combined our stuff, we had utensil overload. The crock was a great way to display the pretty or frequently used utensils and to minimize the drawer clutter.

  2. courtney says:

    edit. edit edit.

    I use two knives and a wooden spoon.

    then again, i’m not as advanced a cook as you and fab but it works

    • designnsuch says:

      Haha…you should’ve said you’re not a “collector” like me & Fab! Though, I don’t collect kitchen stuff, it’s all his. He collects knives, corkscrews and any other kitchen gadget he can get his hands on. 🙂 I’m going to eventually display the collections in shadow boxes or something in the kitchen. In the drawers will only be useful things, even if they’re only used once in a blue moon, like the frosting bag for cake decorating (not mine). Lol!

  3. Scott says:

    Here’s how we do it (just edited and sorted last week!) Top drawer for stuff you use every day (well, week anyway.) Crock on counter for wooden spoons and such. Bottom drawer for stuff that gets used occasionally. Box in closet for stuff that rarely comes out.

    Keep all the tongs — you can’t have too many!

  4. Scott says:

    We’ve been accused of that before!

Leave a Reply

