Master Bathroom Update

I have serious love for the master bathroom. I may have to put a little bench in there so I can have cocktails and admire the view.

Master Bathroom OverviewIt’s obviously not done yet, the concrete sink needs to be touched up and sealed and we need to paint. Oh and yes we need a mirror, shelving, blah, blah, blah. Let’s focus on the fact that the cabinets are stained and I love them.

Bathroom Cabinet Close-upoOh and I helped in the staining process, well, the sealing process. The color is Minwax Special Walnut diluted with 50% lacquer thinner. Three coats were applied and in the final coat a little bit more stain was added. Then four coats of Minwax Satin Indoor/Outdoor sealer were applied. Yes, four. And in between each coat the cabinets were sanded. It’s a process but I am sooo happy with the results!

I also picked up the cabinet hardware and the bath accessories today!

Master Bathroom AccessoriesThe little squares are the cabinet knobs from Emtek.

Master Bathroom Cabinet Knob Close-up

Then there’s the toilet paper holder, towel ring, towel bar and towel hook all from Gatco’s Jewel collection. I’m really, really happy with the selection!

Then of course there’s the shower which is very different. You can read more about the design and fabrication here.

Master Bathroom Shower

Master Bathroom Shower Close-up

Hansgrohe Raindance Showerhead
Shower Doorknob

Then there’s the separate toilet room with the toilet and bidet.

Master Bath Toilet RoomWe want to hang some kind of metallic mesh curtain here to give the toilet room a little privacy. This may be a diy project with chain from Home Depot because the only mesh/chainlink curtains I can find are for super fancy hotels, iow not in our budget. If anyone knows of a source for mesh curtains let me know!

Anyways, that’s the progress with the master bath and I am super happy with the way it’s turning out. If anyone has any storage/shelving ideas let me know!

About designnsuch

I am a just turned thirty, diy maven in the midst of a major home renovation.
This entry was posted in Bathroom, The Great Renovate and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Master Bathroom Update

  1. courtney says:

    it looks GOREGEOUS!!!!! so happy for you!xoxox

  2. Holly says:

    I can’t believe the stain you did – it looks SO good!! Your house looks amazing!

  3. Errybody has to see this when yall is done! Errybody. Looks amazing. You guys doing the work yourselves as well? It’s hard ain’t it. Tiring.

  4. designnsuch says:

    Thanks Bri! We didn’t do the construction stuff ourselves (hubbie’s construction co Double P Construction did that) but I’m doing all the finishes and have a guy helping me. The hubbie is off at work bringing in the cash!
    I can’t imagine doing the construction stuff too, cause yes even the finishes are tiring.

Leave a Reply

