Front Yard Landscape Design

Continuing the landscape design (it’s more of a rough plan but I call it design to make myself feel better, haha) discussion from the other day, we’ll now move around front. This is roughly what the layout looks like now. Off to the left is the chicago brick driveway.

Front Yard Landscaping

Front Yard

Below is the plan we’re using as a guide.

Front Yard Landscape LayoutI wish I had some beautiful inspiration photos to show you but I don’t. It’s basically a little orchard with a mulch path winding through the trees. There will be some medium size plants surrounding the trees, then ground cover plants and mulch. I’m trying to do the whole plant layering effect. Good thing our landscaper is flexible so if something isn’t working we can go in another direction.

Before I worked on this project I had no idea what most of the plants we’re using looked like so I’ll give you a visual breakdown. Flanking the archway will be Michelia Champaca’s. They’re a type of magnolia tree that grow about 8 ft. tall with small orange flowers that smell amazing. The oil from the flowers is actually used in the perfume Joy. I’ve never seen that fragrance but I may need to do a search now that I know what the flowers smell like!

Michelia Champaca

Michelia Champaca Flower

Then you step up into the little orchard and to the left flanking the window will be the existing bougainvillea and it’s twin that we’re adding. In between will be a row of hibiscus bushes. I’m thinking the type with the yellow flower and reddish center.

Hibiscus yellow w/red center

Heading down the first path will be a Longan Tree, which isn’t super beautiful but it makes fruit similar to Lychee. Delish! The next tree will be a Pineapple Guava, which not only makes delicious fruit but the leaves of the gorgeous flower are edible! I’ve read that they taste like marshmallows. Yum!

Pineapple Guava Tree

Pineapple Guava Tree

Pineapple Guava Flower

Pineapple Guava Flower

In between the trees I’d like to put some Cherry Jubilee. It’s a flowering vine plant that can also grow into a bush. I figured it would look nice cascading over the rocks bordering the driveway and in front.

Cherries_Jubilee

Cherries Jubilee

Next will be a lychee tree and behind that a mango and finishing off the orchard a fig and avocado and yes I know avocado is spelled wrong in the drawing, oops. Oh and in the corner, a plumeria that we already have.

At the front edge of the “mini orchard” there’s a border of rocks and another planter area. Here we’ll have two yellow tabs surrounded by brazilian boxwood bushes.

Yellow Tab

Yellow Tab

I don’t know if our trees will be as amazing as the one in this picture but we can hope!

I couldn’t find any good pictures of brazilian boxwood but it’s a medium size bush with deep evergreen leaves and small white flowers that smell fantastic.

So, that’s the plan. It’ll be interesting to see what it actually looks like once it’s finished!

About designnsuch

I am a just turned thirty, diy maven in the midst of a major home renovation.
This entry was posted in The Great Renovate and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Front Yard Landscape Design

  1. katy says:

    i am so jealous! i wish i could have a mango tree and an avocado tree! not to mention lychee and longan…this is going to be so amazing.

  2. designnsuch says:

    Aww ,thanks! I know I can’t wait to enjoy all the amazing fruit!!

Leave a Reply

