Rant

I have to get this off my chest. I am totally fed up with customer service! It’s pretty much a joke. I have been dealing with a concrete sealer fiasco for a few months now. As you may have read in earlier posts I sealed our concrete counters with an epoxy resin sealer called E3/2K made by Richard James Specialty Chemicals Corp. which I bought from V-Seal. Initially after sealing the counters I thought the result was great. A few weeks later the sealer started to bubble up and release from the counter. At first I thought it was just in one spot but to my dismay, it was a “total fail”. I spoke with the technical person at V-Seal who went through a list of reasons why the sealer would have “failed”. Unfortunately, I am unable to identify exactly why it failed and I refuse to use the same sealer only to have it fail again. I also used the same sealer on the bathroom floor and part of the kitchen floor. I was so happy with the appearance I ordered enough to do all of my floors. When I started having problems with the counters I began examining the floors. To my dismay the sealer was peeling off of the floors as well. There was a reason for this though. We had applied a penetrating sealer with siloxane in it, which I now know repels basically everything and no other sealer will stick to it. Wish I had known this before. At any rate I wasn’t seriously perturbed until I tried to return the product that is now useless to me. While holding for customer service the message states “Don’t worry if you don’t know how to apply the sealer now, we’ll get you there”. Not true in my case. So you can imagine how I felt when I was told there would be a 20% restocking fee on this product. The last order I placed was $1200, so the restocking fee would be $240!! I really don’t think it cost the company $240 to fill my order. Not to mention all of the money I’ve already wasted on sealer that peeled off. Never mind the frustration of still not being able to use my kitchen fully because I don’t have sealed counters. Now I do have to say the customer service at V-Seal did say they would ask Richard James to have the re-stocking fee waived. For some reason I’m not confident it will be which is why I’m writing this post. In this era with access to so much information online, many people are trying new projects and companies are happy to sell them product but when there’s an issue it seems the customer always ends up on the short end of the stick.

That’s not the only customer service issue I’ve got. We have a beautiful stove from Bertazzoni, which was purchased over a year ago but we’ve only been using it for four months.

Bertazzoni Stove

Immediately after installing it I noticed the chrome finish is already peeling off the top towel bar. I couldn’t believe it! This is not an inexpensive stove. Of course the stove is out of warranty not only because of when we purchased it, but also because it was a floor model. Ok, fine I’ll buy the bar. Turns out it’s not that easy. Bertazzoni customer service referred me to a local service provider but when I called the provider they stated that they don’t service Bertazzoni. I relayed this message to Bertazzoni who replied, “Please call them again, we contacted them and informed them they do service Bertazzoni.” So I called again. Oh, well we only service Bertazzoni we can’t order parts. Really, why is this sooo difficult?? I only want to order a bar for my stove that has only been used for four months so that I don’t get agitated every time I cook! I said I would pay for it!!

Oh, and the handle fell off our new Thermador refrigerator. At least the installer is coming back to fix that without charging.

About designnsuch

I am a just turned thirty, diy maven in the midst of a major home renovation.
This entry was posted in Decorative Concrete, The Great Renovate and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rant

  1. Holly says:

    Uffdah, frustrating! I hope you can work it all out….

  2. designnsuch says:

    Thanks, me too. Not fun.

  3. bobng8 says:

    Kris,
    If all else fails, I am sure that there are local companies that do chrome plating that can handle that for you. You might have to take all of the parts of the handle with you to insure a perfect match. Then, you have some one local you can reach across the counter and choke.

  4. courtney says:

    hang in there babe!

Leave a Reply

