New Camera Lens- The Nikkor AF-S 50mm f/1.4G

I’m so excited about my new camera lens. It’s a fantastic gift from my wonderful husband. Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me!  Even though it’s a little after my birthday, who cares. Those are the best presents because they keep extending your birthday. Anyways, I chose the Nikkor AF-S 50mm f/1.4G lens because I wanted a lens with a really wide aperture so my images would have that really fantastic bokeh. It arrived today and of course I had to immediately test out the lens. Below are the results…

Papi

My main model Papi @ f1.4, 1/100, exp +5, iso 800

Papi Side View

f1.4, 1/100, +5, iso 800

Papi

f/2.0, 1/200, +5, ISO 400

Indian Door Detail

Indian Door Detail; f/1.4, 1/100, +5, ISO 800

Bougainvillea

Bougainvillea; f/1.4, 1/500, -5, ISO 100

flower

f/1.4, 1/500, -5, ISO 100

The blurred out portions of the photo create such a sharp focal point on the part of the image that is in focus. I really love how it looks.

Another important tip I recently learned is to rely on the camera’s histogram instead of the LCD display when checking for proper exposure. Often times an image would look good on the LCD but when viewing it on the computer it was completely underexposed. Now that I’m using the histogram I am getting much better exposure. For an explanation of the histogram and how to use it check this out. Oh and most digital cameras have a histogram so no worries if you don’t have a dslr.

Do you have a lens with wide aperture? What do you like photographing with that lens?

About designnsuch

I am a just turned thirty, diy maven in the midst of a major home renovation.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Camera Lens- The Nikkor AF-S 50mm f/1.4G

  1. bobng8 says:

    Fantastic! I knew you would love it. I can hardly wait to see some more shots as you explore with it.

Leave a Reply

