Finally took the plunge…Fabric for Window Treatments

I’ve been undecided on window treatments for the gym for sometime now. I’m sure you’re wondering why curtains for the gym are a priority. Well, there’s a 5×6 ft window that faces the street and we’re on full display in that room so we still have black plastic covering the window…not cute.

Gym windows

I thought I had found a great deal online at Quality Roman Shades but I requested swatches and they never sent them after promising twice the samples were on the way. Obviously it was too good to be true.

After more research I found a great tutorial that outlines, step by step with excellent pictures, how to make lined roman shades. I had considered making them the easy way with plastic blinds as the bones, but the windows are very visible from the front yard and front door so it would be pretty gaff to see the blinds on the back of the shades.

Next I went searching for fabric at Boca Bargoons, Calico Corners and JoAnn’s. Calico Corners and JoAnn’s had a good selection and I ended up going with a Waverly Fabric from JoAnn’s on sale for 40% off. Score!!

Source: google.com via Kristin on Pinterest

 

 

I had to special order the fabric, but I picked it up today along with some blackout liner fabric that the associate talked me into. In Florida the sun will supposedly fade the fabric in no time, and the blackout liner helps protect the fabric. I had a 25% off coupon so the liner didn’t cost too much. I picked up the rest of the supplies while I was at JoAnn’s and will get busy within the next week. Wish me luck!!

About designnsuch

I am a just turned thirty, diy maven in the midst of a major home renovation.
This entry was posted in Decor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

