I Finished My First Roman Shades!!

I’m so excited that I finished my first roman shades!!! This has been a long time coming but I finally committed to a fabric, broke out the sewing machine and made my first roman shades.

Gym Roman Shade

It feels really good. Especially since I priced having a roman shade made for this window at Calico Corners and they wanted $340 for the labor plus fabric. Crazy!! It actually didn’t take that long and wasn’t really that difficult.

I followed this tutorial, which is very detailed with pictures.

The fabric is by Waverly, which I bought at JoAnn’s at 40% off so the fabric ended up being $20/yd. I bought 5.5 yards for the two windows I’m doing so that was $110. I’m going to have some left over because I have to sew fabric together for the second window because it’s wider than the width of the fabric. I lined the face fabric with black out liner to prevent fading. The black out fabric was about $6/yd and I bought 5 yards with a coupon, so I think it was $25 for the liner fabric. Then you need the drawstring cord and rings to run the cord through, eye screws, dowel rod, mounting board and velcro. I guess everything was about $160 for the two windows. The other window is huge, it’s the one on the left below. I think it’s about 72″ wide.

 

Gym windows

Here are some pics of the process…

Be sure to square up the fabric so it hangs properly in the window. I did this using an L-square ruler.

Cutting the Fabric

Laying out the liner and face fabric…

Laying out the face and liner fabric

Below you can see what the finished shade looks like on the back side. I used a kind of plastic twill tape with rings attached that I sewed to the shade. I got lucky because they just happened to line up on the black stripe so the thread doesn’t show.

Roman Shade

Back side of roman shade

As I mentioned at the beginning, I followed instructions from another blogger and she did a great job so just go check out her instructions for all the details.

I can’t wait to start the next window so we can take down the black plastic covering the window, lol!!

About designnsuch

I am a just turned thirty, diy maven in the midst of a major home renovation.
This entry was posted in Decor, DIY, The Great Renovate and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Finished My First Roman Shades!!

  1. sewbeeit says:

    I’m so happy the tutorial helped you out! The blind looks awesome. I had to look twice at the fabrics because they are so similar. Mine was purchased at Fabricland here in Ontario, Canada though. Thanks for linking my blog. I’ve been terribly absent with it, so it’s nice when I see it’s still relevant for someone.

    • designnsuch says:

      Your tutorial is great, the pictures are really helpful! The similarity of the fabrics is pretty ironic. 🙂
      I’m sure now that your tutorial is on Pinterest you’ll be helping lots of people!

  2. Huldah overgaard(mom) says:

    Great job-so professional

Leave a Reply

