DIY Dyed Curtains

When I started looking for window treatments I realized they are some kind of expensive. Thank the universe for IKEA!! They have lots of different curtain options made of natural fibers, which is key if you’re planning on dyeing them like I did. FYI, the thread is synthetic so it doesn’t dye. Though, that’s totally fixable with a sharpie and some time. I haven’t gone there yet.

I combined Royal Blue and Aquamarine Rit Dye to create what Rit calls Regatta Blue.It’s kind of a dark peacock blue. When the curtains are submerged in the dye bath it’s super important to continually stir them so the fabric dyes evenly. Other than that just follow the instructions on the Rit site and it’s super easy to get you some custom color curtains.

Dyed Curtains

The other cool thing about the curtains is that we used a bamboo stalk for the curtain rod. I picked it up at a nearby store, gave it a rubdown with some furniture wax and it was good to go.

For the curtain rod brackets, I ordered some unfinished brackets online and used the same stain that was used on the baseboard. The color is perfect!

Curtain Rod Brackets

Curtain Rod Brackets

And voila…cheap, customized window treatments.

Dyed Curtains Open

Dyed curtains

About designnsuch

I am a just turned thirty, diy maven in the midst of a major home renovation.
This entry was posted in Bedroom, DIY, The Great Renovate and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY Dyed Curtains

  1. Ruth says:

    Hi, great job with the curtains and hardward. Could you please tell me the website you got your unfinished brackets.
    Thanks, Ruth

Leave a comment